Book review: Gypsy Boy by Mikey Walsh

At a time where Sweden, and probably a lot of Europe, sees a lot of Romany immigrants, it was a bit of a coincidence that the book Gypsy Boy by Mikey Walsh was on an 83% for my Kindle. Mikey Walsh seems to know a fair few of the people I follow on Twitter, and I have thus seen some people promoting his book. Not being able to resist a good deal on a book, I, naturally, bought it (despite having waaaaaay too many books on my ”To Read”-list.)

Now that I am old and haggard, I have more or less stopped staying up all night ”just ’coz I have to finish a book”, but with Gypsy Boy, I simply had to. I finished the book in less than 4 hours, and afterwards went to sleep with a terrible feeling in my stomach.

Mikey Walsh grew up in a Romany community, with a family full of competitive fighters. He realised quite early that this life was not for him, something that made his father start beating him at a very early age, and, when Mikey understood that he was gay, he finally realised that he had to escape from the community he grew up in.

It is a very harrowing read, showing how much harm it can do to force people to live up to expectations that aren’t their own. I am amazed that Mikey Walsh has still managed to not hate his father and the culture he grew up in after all that happened to him. It was a long time since I was this touched by a book!

I am very much looking forward to finishing my ”To Read”-list, so I can justify buying the sequel, Gypsy Boy On The Run.

To buy Gypsy Boy on Amazon UK, click here

DISCLOSURE: I may be an affiliate for products that I recommend. If you purchase those items through my links I will earn a commission. 

About Petter

Serving the Lord in many capacities, some more exciting than others. Based in the RBKC. Gay, not queer. Swede in London.
This entry was posted in Books and reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment