A New Month, A New Life?

BxL4910ZTYeKph2Qm9GYsw.jpg

Most of the people who follow this blog will probably know by now that I was rejected by my BAP, and so won’t start to train for the priesthood for at least another 2 years. The ins and outs behind this, and what followed leaves me with a fair few rather catty observations, so for now, I shall not explore that subject further..

However, as the future I had carefully planned for was turned upside down, I found myself needing a job – badly. It was a prospect I wasn’t looking forward to at all. The last time I tried applying for jobs in the UK I had to apply for 386 jobs before I finally managed to find full-time employment. However, now having both a UK degree and some work history to show in the UK, I found myself being rather popular, in fact, I applied for less than 20 jobs and had about 6 invites to interviews. In the end, I was offered, and accepted, a dream job – Operations Manager at Galop – the UK’s only LGBT specific anti-violence charity.

I have been there for almost a month now, and it’s fair to say that I am loving it so far. The job is lovely, and the team is great. Of course, being back in my beloved London is a great added bonus! Another thing to put on the list of superlatives about my current life is that I have ended up worshipping in a church where a close friend is the incumbent, and so I’ve already been back in the cassock twice since I left Oxford.

On Saturday, I will also be back marching at London Pride – the first time ever marching here in London and the first time marching in a Pride since 2004. With the state of the world – and recent events – it is more important than usual to march, and on Saturday, more than ever for me, it most certainly feels like Pride will be a protest, not a party.

Anyway, I will hopefully be more active on the blog now that I will have a life worth blogging about again.

(The picture was taken by me on my recent 10-mile walk from Blackfriars to Canary Wharf – gotta love a summery London!)

About Petter

Serving the Lord in many capacities, some more exciting than others. Based in the RBKC. Gay, not queer. Swede in London.
This entry was posted in LGBT, London. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Month, A New Life?

  1. Kraka says:

    Yeah! I really hope to read your blog at least once a week.

  2. Pingback: #AlphabeticallyMe: H is for Home! | Petter's Blog

Leave a comment