Gott Nytt År!

vector-shiny-blue-happy-new-year-2017-card

While I have had a rather nice 2016, it has not been the best of years for the global society – one of my favourite comedians passed away, and we had a fair few acts of terrorism.

Those few, die hard, followers of this blog who have been around for a few years know that I have usually posted a chronological review of the year that’s just passed. This year, however, I will try and just pull out a few highlights/lowlights/memorable events, in no chronological order whatsoever.

Moving back home: Most people who know me know that I moved back to my own flat in mid-January. As the woman I sublet my flat to during my time in London is a cleaner, I took over the flat in a very good condition. I am very happy to be reunited with all my art and my very decent flat, but being back in my suburb is not as comforting. Everyday I grow more and more uncomfortable living here, especially with the gunfire that has been a regular feature for the last few months. Being a native Swede, gay and a practicing Christian is not the best starting point for living where I do….

Walsingham: one of the greatest experiences in my life to date was going to the Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham. With the recent developments in the Church of England regarding female ordination, especially female bishops, I have struggled for over a year with discerning if the Church of England really is a place where one can practice a Catholic faith. However, being at Walsingham and praying at the Holy House was a transforming experience for me. I am still proud to be an Anglican (and very happy that I left the Church of Sweden!). Me being an Anglophile, I have already booked my 2017 pilgrimage to the Holy House!

Work: While I still remain convinced that I’m called to Holy Orders, I managed to have a signed contract before I moved back to Stockholm. I now work as a qualified accountant (though not as an auditor) at a small practice near the Globe Arena. I am very happy there, both with the colleagues and the work I do, the only downside is my long commute. This needs to be rectified, though not by leaving my employer. I am very much (as I might have indicated above) wanting to leave where I live now, so hopefully I will find somewhere closer to work.

Swedish politics: while most certainly not being one of the highlights of my year, it still has had effects on me I never wanted. At the moment Sweden is ruled by a two-party government made up of the Social Democrats and the Greens, heavily relying in parliament on the support from the former Communists. During the 2 years since they were elected they have (very much supported by an inept opposition) more or less ruined the country. I honestly do not know what I will vote for in the 2018 General Election.

Friends and Family: At the end of 2015 I very much feared that my beloved grandmama wouldn’t be with us at the end of 2016. However, I was, luckily, very wrong. She is still around, as good a chef as always, and almost feistier (if possible) than ever before. As always a great shout-out goes out to her, MotherDearest, FatherDearest and SisterDearest for being there for me 24/7. I have also had the great fortune of having wonderful friends, who have made my 2016 a very nice year indeed, with lots of good food, and lots of fermented beverages as well as honest conversations and emotional support.

Travel: Maybe not unsurprisingly, most of my travel this year went to my beloved England. I was very happy to see Mrs May elected Prime Minister this year, and hoping that she will carry on the work done by her many great predecessors at 10 Downing Street, especially my great political idol the Lady Thatcher. I also went to Tallinn with MotherDearest (a wonderful trip) and to Helsinki with my dear friend Monika.

All in all, I have had a rather good 2016, and I hope that 2017 will be even better. With Sweden’s greatest musical export – I wish you a Happy New Year!

About Petter

Demi-Norwegian Swede in Oxford. Rather churchy type.
This entry was posted in Church, LGBT, Miscellanea, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

