A Common Prayer

Most days that I work, I try to take part in our Evening Prayer, and it will be something I will miss a lot once I leave St Mary’s. So, here is the BCP Evening Prayer for tonight!

These responses are used
O Lord, open thou our lips
All
and our mouth shall shew forth thy praise.
O God, make speed to save us.
All
O Lord, make haste to help us.
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son,
and to the Holy Ghost;
All
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be,
world without end. Amen.
Praise ye the Lord.
All
The Lord’s name be praised.
Psalmody

Psalm 119.1-32

1
Blessed are those that are undefiled in the way :
and walk in the law of the Lord.
2
Blessed are they that keep his testimonies :
and seek him with their whole heart.
3
For they who do no wickedness :
walk in his ways.
4
Thou hast charged :
that we shall diligently keep thy commandments.
5
O that my ways were made so direct :
that I might keep thy statutes!
6
So shall I not be confounded :
while I have respect unto all thy commandments.
7
I will thank thee with an unfeigned heart :
when I shall have learned the judgements of thy righteousness.
8
I will keep thy ceremonies :
O forsake me not utterly.
9
Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way :
even by ruling himself after thy word.
10
With my whole heart have I sought thee :
O let me not go wrong out of thy commandments.
11
Thy words have I hid within my heart :
that I should not sin against thee.
12
Blessed art thou, O Lord :
O teach me thy statutes.
13
With my lips have I been telling :
of all the judgements of thy mouth.
14
I have had as great delight in the way of thy testimonies :
as in all manner of riches.
15
I will talk of thy commandments :
and have respect unto thy ways.
16
My delight shall be in thy statutes :
and I will not forget thy word.
17
O do well unto thy servant :
that I may live, and keep thy word.
18
Open thou mine eyes :
that I may see the wondrous things of thy law.
19
I am a stranger upon earth :
O hide not thy commandments from me.
20
My soul breaketh out for the very fervent desire :
that it hath alway unto thy judgements.
21
Thou hast rebuked the proud :
and cursed are they that do err from thy commandments.
22
O turn from me shame and rebuke :
for I have kept thy testimonies.
23
Princes also did sit and speak against me :
but thy servant is occupied in thy statutes.
24
For thy testimonies are my delight :
and my counsellors.
25
My soul cleaveth to the dust :
O quicken thou me, according to thy word.
26
I have acknowledged my ways, and thou heardest me :
O teach me thy statutes.
27
Make me to understand the way of thy commandments :
and so shall I talk of thy wondrous works.
28
My soul melteth away for very heaviness :
comfort thou me according unto thy word.
29
Take from me the way of lying :
and cause thou me to make much of thy law.
30
I have chosen the way of truth :
and thy judgements have I laid before me.
31
I have stuck unto thy testimonies :
O Lord, confound me not.
32
I will run the way of thy commandments :
when thou hast set my heart at liberty.
At the end of each psalm these words are said or sung
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son :
and to the Holy Ghost;
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be :
world without end. Amen.
Old Testament Reading

First Reading: 1 Samuel 13.5-18

And the Philistines gathered themselves together to fight with Israel, thirty thousand chariots, and six thousand horsemen, and people as the sand which is on the sea shore in multitude: and they came up, and pitched in Michmash, eastward from Bethaven.
When the men of Israel saw that they were in a strait, (for the people were distressed,) then the people did hide themselves in caves, and in thickets, and in rocks, and in high places, and in pits.
And some of the Hebrews went over Jordan to the land of Gad and Gilead. As for Saul, he was yet in Gilgal, and all the people followed him trembling.
And he tarried seven days, according to the set time that Samuel had appointed: but Samuel came not to Gilgal; and the people were scattered from him.
And Saul said, Bring hither a burnt offering to me, and peace offerings. And he offered the burnt offering.
And it came to pass, that as soon as he had made an end of offering the burnt offering, behold, Samuel came; and Saul went out to meet him, that he might salute him.
And Samuel said, What hast thou done? And Saul said, Because I saw that the people were scattered from me, and that thou camest not within the days appointed, and that the Philistines gathered themselves together at Michmash;
Therefore said I, The Philistines will come down now upon me to Gilgal, and I have not made supplication unto the Lord: I forced myself therefore, and offered a burnt offering.
And Samuel said to Saul, Thou hast done foolishly: thou hast not kept the commandment of the Lord thy God, which he commanded thee: for now would the Lord have established thy kingdom upon Israel for ever.
But now thy kingdom shall not continue: the Lord hath sought him a man after his own heart, and the Lord hath commanded him to be captain over his people, because thou hast not kept that which the Lord commanded thee.
And Samuel arose, and gat him up from Gilgal unto Gibeah of Benjamin. And Saul numbered the people that were present with him, about six hundred men.
And Saul, and Jonathan his son, and the people that were present with them, abode in Gibeah of Benjamin: but the Philistines encamped in Michmash.
And the spoilers came out of the camp of the Philistines in three companies: one company turned unto the way that leadeth to Ophrah, unto the land of Shual:
And another company turned the way to Bethhoron: and another company turned to the way of the border that looketh to the valley of Zeboim toward the wilderness.

Magnificat
Either the Magnificat (as follows) or Cantate Domino (Psalm 98) is said or sung.
1
My soul doth magnify the Lord :
and my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour.
2
For he hath regarded :
the lowliness of his handmaiden.
3
For behold, from henceforth :
all generations shall call me blessed.
4
For he that is mighty hath magnified me :
and holy is his Name.
5
And his mercy is on them that fear him :
throughout all generations.
6
He hath shewed strength with his arm :
he hath scattered the proud in the imagination of their hearts.
7
He hath put down the mighty from their seat :
and hath exalted the humble and meek.
8
He hath filled the hungry with good things :
and the rich he hath sent empty away.
9
He remembering his mercy hath holpen his servant Israel :
as he promised to our forefathers, Abraham and his seed for ever.
Luke 1.46-55
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son :
and to the Holy Ghost;
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be :
world without end. Amen.
New Testament Reading

Second Reading: Luke 22.63-end

And the men that held Jesus mocked him, and smote him.
And when they had blindfolded him, they struck him on the face, and asked him, saying, Prophesy, who is it that smote thee?
And many other things blasphemously spake they against him.
And as soon as it was day, the elders of the people and the chief priests and the scribes came together, and led him into their council, saying,
Art thou the Christ? tell us. And he said unto them, If I tell you, ye will not believe:
And if I also ask you, ye will not answer me, nor let me go.
Hereafter shall the Son of man sit on the right hand of the power of God.
Then said they all, Art thou then the Son of God? And he said unto them, Ye say that I am.
And they said, What need we any further witness? for we ourselves have heard of his own mouth.

Nunc dimittis
Either the Nunc dimittis (as follows) or Deus misereatur (Psalm 67) is said or sung.
1
Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace :
according to thy word.
2
For mine eyes have seen :
thy salvation;
3
Which thou hast prepared :
before the face of all people;
4
To be a light to lighten the Gentiles :
and to be the glory of thy people Israel.
Luke 2.29-32
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son :
and to the Holy Ghost;
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be :
world without end. Amen.
The Apostles’ Creed
All
I believe in God the Father almighty,
maker of heaven and earth:
and in Jesus Christ his only Son our Lord,
who was conceived by the Holy Ghost,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, dead, and buried.
He descended into hell;
the third day he rose again from the dead;
he ascended into heaven,
and sitteth on the right hand of God the Father almighty;
from thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Ghost;
the holy catholic Church;
the communion of saints;
the forgiveness of sins;
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting.
Amen.
Prayers
The Lord be with you.
All
And with thy spirit.
Let us pray.
Lord, have mercy upon us.
All
Christ, have mercy upon us.
Lord, have mercy upon us.
All
Our Father, which art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done,
in earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive them that trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil. Amen.
O Lord, shew thy mercy upon us.
All
And grant us thy salvation.
O Lord, save the Queen.
All
And mercifully hear us when we call upon thee.
Endue thy ministers with righteousness.
All
And make thy chosen people joyful.
O Lord, save thy people.
All
And bless thine inheritance.
Give peace in our time, O Lord.
All
Because there is none other that fighteth for us,
but only thou, O God.
O God, make clean our hearts within us.
All
And take not thy Holy Spirit from us.
Three Collects are said.
The Collect of the Day
Lord of all power and might, who art the author and giver of all good things; Graft in our hearts the love of thy Name, increase in us true religion, nourish us with all goodness, and of thy great mercy keep us in the same; through Jesus Christ our Lord.
All
Amen.
The Collect for Peace
O God, from whom all holy desires, all good counsels,
     and all just works do proceed;
give unto thy servants that peace which the world cannot give;
that both, our hearts may be set to obey thy commandments,
and also that, by thee,
we being defended from the fear of our enemies
may pass our time in rest and quietness;
through the merits of Jesus Christ our Saviour.
All
Amen.
The Collect for Aid against all Perils
Lighten our darkness, we beseech thee, O Lord;
and by thy great mercy defend us
     from all perils and dangers of this night;
for the love of thy only Son, our Saviour, Jesus Christ.
All
Amen.
The order for the end of the service may include:
hymns or anthems
   a sermon
further prayers (which may include prayers from here)
This prayer may be used to conclude the service
The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ,
and the love of God,
and the fellowship of the Holy Ghost,
be with us all evermore.
All
Amen.
About Petter

Friend of Dorothy & HMTQ. Staunch Conservative. Anglo-Catholic Anglophile in the Swedish Capital. (Hoping to be ordained one day, God willing...) Single.
This entry was posted in Church, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

