All good things must come to an end!

Copyright: Östersunds kommun

So, as I hinted in my last blogpost my ex and I have broken up again, the reasons why shall not be divulged on this blog apart from me saying that it was not my decision and I still love him very much. In that blog post I also hinted that major changes were afoot, and so I thought that it would be time to let you all know what I was hinting at:

I have resigned from both my post at St Mary’s and my freelance role at Visiting Arts, and on 7 August I will be on a flight back home to Sweden, and no return flight has been booked. The plan is to stay with my parents (poor them!) until 1 September, when I get my student flat in Östersund on 1 September. Once in Östersund, I plan to study at Mid Sweden University in order to finish my Swedish degree in accounting, with my eyes on graduation in June 2016, when I also will move back to my flat in Stockholm.

Leaving my beloved London was not an easy decision, as I still love the city very much, but S and I met pretty soon after I moved here. Even though I had been to London as a tourist several times before I moved here (in the year I moved, 2013, I think I added up 4 or 5 trips before I moved) most of the “non-touristy” things I have done in London are strongly associated with him, and I see reminders of our time together almost everywhere I turn. Admittedly, this would not have been enough to make me move had I been where I wanted to accommodation- and work wise, but when I am seemingly unable to afford a flat of my own or get a job that I have been trained for, it is time to admit defeat and let go.

My London obsession has been a major fixture in my life for many years, and now knowing that I probably won’t indulge it as much as I have done over the last 5 years feels really weird. I do plan to come back from time to time, if nothing else so I can attend the yearly APCM at St Mary’s, meet the friends I have made here, and reminisce about the two lovely years I spent as a full time Londoner.

I will try and make this coming year in Östersund a year to better myself, both when it comes to losing weight, getting fit, and getting back into the habit of daily prayer – be it with the Book of Common Prayer or the Swedish Book of Hours, I do not know yet… This blog will get back to servicing the purpose it did before I moved – to keep my English writing skills up to date, but I will also try and use it as an accountability partner, but more about that when I have settled in Sweden.

The photography above is taken from the Östersund City Council press page, and you can see the central parts of the town at night.

About Petter

Demi-Norwegian Swede in Oxford. Rather churchy type.
This entry was posted in Church, LGBT, London, Travel, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

