A few London tips

After my recent trip to London, I thought I should share a few tips about places to visit in my favourite city:

When it comes to hotels – I recommend either the Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel on Tottenham Court Road, close to Warren Street tube station. My last stay in London was at this hotel, and I was most pleasantly surprised. It’s a very good value for money when it comes to London hotels, and I recommend it strongly! Another hotel I really like is the Blandford, a very nice hotel close to Baker Street tube-station, The Sherlock Holmes Museum and Madame Tussauds.

London is packed with places offering Afternoon Tea or High Tea, and I’ve only tried one of them, but I really liked the Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon at Fortnum & Mason:Even though I don’t think this is a place one goes to frequently due to the price, you get a very good value for money. Staff is attentive and friendly, the ambience superb and the sandwiches divine. According to my friend, the cakes are quite good as well! It’s also a good place to buy some non-tacky souvenirs from London, teas for instance. Had I been slightly richer, I think I would have brought 50% of the stationery department with me home to Sweden…

When it comes to dining, I’m rather partial to Soho, and one place in particular – Balans Soho. It’s the first place in Soho I’ve been to that feels relaxed, yet gives good service and very good, traditional, British Sunday roast! Anyway, that’s just a few tips, I’ll return later with some ideas when it comes to shopping and museums 🙂

About Petter

Demi-Norwegian Swede in Oxford. Rather churchy type.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

