Love-affair rekindled!

As many of you (who am I kidding, my number of followers can hardly be called ‘many’….) might have guessed, I spent the Easter Bank Holiday in London. I had such a lovely time there, that I’m quite sad to be home again! As usual, I went there alone, but this time I met up, and spent quite a lot of time with, a few friends, and so got to see London “off the beaten path”.

So, for the few of you who might be interested – some of the items on my itinerary were:

  • Balans in Soho – a very lovely restaurant indeed
  • The Ivy in West End, surprisingly good given the location
  • Guided tour of the Houses of Parliament, I can understand why they’re prize winning!
  • Shopping spree at Harrods, Liberty, Primark and Uniqlo.
  • Afternoon tea at Fortnum and Mason – pricey, but SO worth it 🙂

A small anecdote: my flight home to Stockholm left at 8-ish on Monday evening. As usual, I left the city rather early – this time at 3-ish – and headed to the airport. Due to excessive shopping my bag was so heavy I decided to grab a cab from the hotel to Paddington, and then take the Heathrow Express from Paddington to the airport.

As I sat down on the train and felt a bit sad about leaving, I started re-arranging things in my bag so they would be easy to find once i got home, and found out that I’d forgotten my travel wallet with the passport in it in the safe at the hotel. Cue a lot of swearing. Anyway, I got off the train at the first stop at LHR, took the first train back to Paddington again, FINALLY managed to find a taxi at Paddington that accepted card payment rather than cash, went back to the hotel, found the wallet where I’d left it, and went all the way back to LHR again. 

Despite this, slightly stressful, end to my trip, I had an absolute blast, and can’t wait to get back again 😀

About Petter

Demi-Norwegian Swede in Oxford. Rather churchy type.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love-affair rekindled!

  1. Kraka says:

    I know the secret how to get many followers. Perhaps I can tell you one evening…

Leave a Reply

