My Latest Obsessions


As most of my friends know already, I luuuuurve to travel! September 2011-January 2013 I was lucky to work only 80 %, with all Fridays off. This made it possible for me to travel quite a lot, as I could make weekend trips without using up my vacation days. During that period I managed to visit London, Berlin, Amsterdam, Helsinki, Tallinn and Riga as well as a lot of trips within Sweden. All these cities were lovely, and, as I travelled alone, I got to see a lot of things that I decided on a whim that I wanted to see. You know…you sit on the tube in Berlin, and see a sign on a station for a museum that sounds interesting, and within 30 secs you’ve decided to get off the tube and go visit that museum? Absolutely my way of vacationing 🙂

However, despite being rather spontaneous when I travel, I also take a lot of precautions not to look like a tourist, and one of the things I always try to think about is not standing in the middle of the street reading a guide book or a map. That makes you positively SCREAM “tourist”, and makes you an easy target for pick-pockets. This makes one of my two most recent obsessions a very smart little thing: The Moleskine City Notebooks. They are basically a pocket-sized notebook containing city maps and a lot of tabbed pages. The idea is that you basically make your own guidebook by filling in restaurants, shops, bars etc that you like/want to experience. Incredibly practical, as you don’t have to schlep around a big Lonely Planet book, and they look like a diary or notebook, and thus doesn’t show that you’re stood in the middle of Oxford St looking at a map trying to find your way to Debenhams. Marvellous 🙂

How do I find the things I enter into my little black books then? Well, of course I always use my trusty Lonely Planet guide books and try to find the things that sounds interesting to me, but the second obsession I meant to blog about today is TripAdvisor, a site that gathers reviews from travelers and lets you search hotels, restaurants and attractions in a number of cities – they even have restaurants from the small village I grew up in. (And it’s their logo that is the picture you can see above…) I’ve written a number of reviews myself, which you can find here. Hope you find them useful, and Happy Travelling!

Toodle-pip!

About Petter

Demi-Norwegian Swede in Oxford. Rather churchy type.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

