A Life-Changing Decision

As those of you who know me well know, I’m a ponderer. I always over-analyse and over-think stuff. I also tend to plan rather far in advance, many thinks too far. This means, for instance, that I managed to land a job for when my current interim position ends, already in November 2012. So, all is well, and I have everything in order for the future.

OR…..should I say – everything WAS well, until a former colleague contacted me and asked if I wanted to put my name forward as a candidate for a role as CFO at the company where she works. I accepted and entered the interview/selection process and, after some thinking, also sent a number of applications for similar positions. The same day those applications were sent, I got invitations to 3 interviews, none of the recruiters seeing any problems at all with me asking approx. 10 KSEK pcm more than the job I already had signed for offers. A no-brainer, one might think?

However, for me, it wasn’t.

As an update – those of you who know me well might know that I still haven’t finished my BSc – I started working before I even gained my Associate’s Degree, doing most of the coursework for that degree in parallel with full time work. As I know from my past (very nice!) 1,5 years as an Interim Finance Manager, the job takes a lot of time and energy. Don’t misunderstand me – I’ve really liked my job – but it is demanding. I had no reason to believe that the other jobs I’d applied for would be less demanding, meaning that if I’d been offered, and accepted, any of them, all my thoughts of finishing my degree would have to be put on hold for an indefinite amount of time.

After a lot of soul-searching last weekend, I actually decided that I would stick to the position I’d already signed for – as it would give me more time to finish my degree, it would let me work with auditing – something I’ve never done before, and I’m promised approx 40 hrs yearly of CPE.

It took a lot of thoughts, and venting with both my friend D and FatherDearest, but I can now honestly say that I’ve made a decision that I’m very happy with, despite it not being the most profitable option of the ones that were offered at the time.

I’m really looking forward to starting my new job at March 1st, and while I also feel that the upcoming 3 weeks of vacation will do me good, I will surely miss all the colleagues at my old job, where I did the last day on February 6th!

About Petter

Demi-Norwegian Swede in Oxford. Rather churchy type.
This entry was posted in Studies, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

