On the size of cities

I just realised, as I sat eating dinner at one of the restaurants at Arlanda airport: when I grew up in the little northern town of Östersund, I honestly thought that Stockholm was a big metropolis. Back then, I even considered Gothenburg to be large and scary. However, nowadays, after having been in London, NYC, Washington DC and Berlin, Stockholm to me feels like home, and rather small. The funny thing about this is, that I don’t consider my hometown of Östersund to have shrunk in equal proportion to Stockholm – strange, isn’t it?

About Petter

Demi-Norwegian Swede in Oxford. Rather churchy type.
This entry was posted in Miscellanea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

